Choices

courtesy of , Gracie Ferrell of GracePhotography

I chose to do it. No one made me make the decision. No one forced me. I did it with my own free will. And you know what? I knew exactly what I was doing – then and now.

Yes, I was only 20 years old when I planned my wedding and married the only love of my life. I chose to leave the university that I dreamed about attending since I was a little girl before I could call it m


y alma mater. I chose to leave friends behind, true and real friends. I chose to leave my sorority, which is still a piece of who I am. I chose to move back home.courtesy of Gracie Ferrell of GracePhotographyIt was a hard decision to make, and I was torn between two worlds. But I felt God leading me home. For what? Honestly, I still do not know exactly. I had a much clearer life plan in Knoxville…Go to class, be involved, focus on my education, graduation, and finding a profession. However, I could not deny what I knew to be the Holy Spirit stirring in me – telling me I belonged at home…that God had a plan for me there.

Often, I think back on the moment I made the decision. I sat in my apartment alone. I looked around, sighed, and said, “Okay, God, I will follow you.”

It seems like the word ‘marriage’ should not be considered taboo among people my age, but it is. If you find the person you want to spend the rest of your life with at a young age, why can’t you do that? Why do you have to move in together before you know for sure that person is meant for you? Why should you be restricted to dating through college?

Now, don’t misunderstand, I am not advocating for marriage in college, but it should not be forbidden. In a society where anything goes, I have felt more criticized by my peers for my decision than any actual bad choice I have made in the past.

Look forward to reading topics of this sort from me because this is what I want to speak out about. However, the life I live is not always roses and sunshine just because I am a ‘married woman.’ Ugly moments accompany the beautiful ones, but i would not have changed my decision for the world.

Leave a Reply

