A Very Specific Purpose

There is one thing I never asked to be – a mother. Yet, I became one in 2011. In the midst of my selfish endeavors, God saw fit to make me the one thing I never asked to be. Sometimes I wonder why, especially when I see women who have longed for motherhood into their 30s and 40s. Why did He choose to make me a mother at age 21 when my own mother did not have me until nearly 40? Surely, God knew I had my own set of plans, and a child was not part of the immediate future.
C34bw
I had absolutely no experience to bring with me to motherhood. I never held a baby until I held my own, let alone change a diaper, sing a lullaby or rock one to sleep. God, did You not think I might need a little practice before launching me into this journey?

But you see, we are each created for a purpose, something for which God said, “Only you can do this.” Motherhood is the perfect example. There will never be another ‘Claire Elizabeth’ like mine. I am the only mother she will ever have, the only woman equipped to parent and love her the way God intended. He chose me to be her mother. Yet, she came with no instructions, and I came with no experience.

There is no school to attend for motherhood, and no bachelor’s or master’s degrees in this area that academics would probably categorize as Life Studies. Yet, mothers drop out every day. They say, “I didn’t ask for this, and it is not a part of my plan.” Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if I said the same thing.

The truth is: I thought about it.

The Book of Proverbs teaches about ‘skillful and godly Wisdom.’ Proverbs 3: 5-6 (AMP) reads: Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind, and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. (v. 6) In all your ways know, recognize and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.”

I thought about quitting motherhood before it ever had a chance to start, but I chose not to quit. I chose God’s plan and path for my life, though I did not understand it. Fast forward four years, and verse six of this scripture is beginning to take place in my life.

As mothers, we are not recognized with a monetary value nor do we have the opportunity to retire after years of service. We work, we clean, we cook. We love without measure and are still expected to keep our own emotions in check. We do not receive ‘high-fives’ or ‘employee of the month’ recognition, and most of the time, we do not expect a ‘thank you’. However, all of this is completely irrelevant.

Expecting recognition for following God’s plan is not what it means to lean on and trust in the Lord. I am a mother because God made me a mother, and I praise Him for that every day now. I may have had my own set of plans that became derailed the moment I said, “God, I trust You.” But my plans don’t even begin to compare to what God has in store for me.

As I walk more closely with Him, I thank Him for my family, my daughter and for motherhood. And I acknowledge that it is because of Him, I am able to be a mother. I am not perfect, but in Christ, I am made right. With righteousness comes recognition and value from the only One who really matters.

If you are a woman who has struggled with motherhood and what it means for you, be reassured that God knew what He was doing the moment He created YOU, and He has equipped you with all you need. There is no one else in this world who can be who you are and do the job you were designed to do.

Ephesians 2: 10 (AMP) reads: For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them [living the good life which He prearranged and made ready for us to live].

Mother or not, I hope everyone can find encouragement and motivation in the fact that God created each of us for a very specific purpose… I am discovering mine through the overwhelming goodness of God. Are you?

One thought on “A Very Specific Purpose

  1. Wonderful piece…. I sincerely enjoyed your insight on motherhood and appreciated your wisdom for giving God the credit for becoming the person He planned for you to be. No doubt, you will always be a good mother to Claire because you will let God guide you along the way.

Leave a Reply

