Let Go and Let God Be God.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (AMP)
Lean on, trust in and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.
In all your ways know, recognize and acknowledge Him and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

LEAN. TRUST. BE CONFIDENT.

To lean is to transfer your weight to another support feature – like a wall or a rock. Leaning offers support, balance and stability. It allows you to share your weight and give your physical body rest. The act of leaning requires trust and confidence in the object on which you have chosen to lean.

For example, I trust the wall of a building to support my weight. I trust it to hold me up, keep me from falling.  There is no doubt in my mind this wall will not crumble with my added weight. I can see it supporting a building much larger than I am. I can feel that it is made out of concrete, and I know from previous leaning experience that concrete is very strong and sturdy. This previous knowledge builds the confidence I have in the solid structure of this wall. I recognize the fact that if it can support an entire building, it will also support me.

Now, I am no engineer or architect, and I do not possess the knowledge to tell you why concrete is so strong. I cannot even tell you how to mix concrete, let alone its chemical makeup or how to build a concrete wall. However, my lack of insight and understanding of concrete is really irrelevant to my leaning. If I were to trust and lean on my own insight and understanding, I would debate the strength of this wall. I would have to do research to verify its reliability. I might even decide not to trust this wall and continue on wearily – no rest for me.

Where am I going with this? I have a need: Rest. To meet that need the best choice I can make is not worry about the entire history and story of this particular concrete wall. Hopefully, at this point, you are yelling at your screen, “JUST LEAN ON THE WALL!”

How much more is God than this wall? What Proverbs 3:5 asks us to do is transfer our weight to the Solid Rock, trusting that God is going to support us despite any lack of understanding or insight. God simply says, “Trust Me.”

Bottom line? Just like I trust a wall to support my leaning and resting physically, I trust God to support me in every way – mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually.

KNOW. RECOGNIZE. ACKNOWLEDGE.

Now that you are leaning and trusting, look to verse six. Here, God gives us a promise – He will make straight and plain our path and purpose in this life, but this promise is contingent on a couple of actions we have to take.

Know who God is and know that He wants to have His hand in every aspect of our lives. He cares. He cares about the smallest worry that we feel is insignificant all the way to the big monsters that stay locked away in the darkest places of our lives.

Recognize the fact that God is God…He is infinitely wise. When we recognize His hand in every single moment of our lives, He LOVES that! From the words I am typing to the big decisions you have to make, recognize that God is with you and is the Influencer in your daily life. When you become acutely aware that there is really no such thing as ‘luck’, it is pretty cool. We are not accidents walking around on planet Earth. We were put here for a reason – in this place, for a time such as this.

Acknowledge God. Thank Him outloud for what He has done, is doing and will do in your life. God inhabits the praises of His people (Psalm 22:3). When you begin to acknowledge God’s presence in your life, sit back and watch the magic happen. God always shows up.

Doing these three things, in faith through Jesus Christ, swings the door wide open for God to deliver on His Promise. He wants to lead, guide and direct your path. He wants you to walk in His lovingkindness, to know His goodness and to live life to its fullest.

GOD IS REAL. GOD IS GOOD.

I know God is real. I have seen God work in my life. He has whispered sweet words to me through the Holy Spirit and revealed hidden gems and treasures in His Word. It is undeniable – God is good, and I trust Him to direct my path.

While you may not have insight or understanding into the fabrication of His plan, you can still know and have full confidence in God’s ability and desire to be the support structure we need. So go forward in that truth boldly, and don’t be afraid to declare these two verses over your life today, tomorrow and every day.

 

Leave a Reply

